Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
2

The Testimony of Stephen: A Beacon of Faith and Courage

Reflecting on the Life and Legacy of the First Christian Martyr
2

Dear beloved in Christ,

As I pen this letter, my heart is full of reflections on the journey we have embarked upon together in the light of our Lord Jesus Christ. Our path, though marked by trials, is illuminated by the same Holy Spirit who descended upon the apostles at Pentecost, guiding and empowering us to continue the work started in those early days in Jerusalem.

From the outset, the community of believers sought to live in a harmony that mirrored the teachings of Christ, blending our faith with the daily practice of love and service. The apostles, devoted entirely to the ministry of the Word and prayer, established a system to care for those among us in need, particularly the widows and the orphans who are so dear to the heart of God.

It was during this time of growth and communal care that I, Stephen, found myself called to serve in what might seem a humble capacity—ensuring the equitable distribution of food. This task, though seemingly mundane, was pivotal in maintaining the unity and integrity of our community. It underscored the principle that all service done in Christ's name is sacred and vital to the health of His body, the Church.

My role soon expanded as the Holy Spirit empowered me to speak with a boldness that mirrored the apostles'. My words, full of Spirit and truth, began to challenge the status quo, reaching the ears of the Jewish leaders. It became increasingly clear that the message of Jesus was revolutionary, threatening the existing religious structures and leaders who were deeply entrenched in their traditions and authority.

Brought before the Sanhedrin, I was compelled to defend not only my actions but the entire narrative of our faith—from Abraham to the prophets, culminating in the righteous life, unjust death, and glorious resurrection of Jesus Christ, our Lord. I recounted the history of our people, highlighting how time and again, we resisted God's messengers. My intention was not to condemn but to awaken my listeners to the truth that had so radically transformed my own life.

Yet, as I spoke of Jesus, declaring Him the Righteous One, the long-awaited Messiah whom our ancestors had prophesied but also rejected, the assembly was incited to fury. In that moment, I gazed into heaven and saw the glory of God, and Jesus standing at the right hand of God. Sharing this vision meant sealing my fate, as it further enraged the leaders who considered it blasphemy.

The stoning that followed was a brutal end to my earthly life, but it was also the beginning of a legacy of martyrdom that would characterize the early Church. My final plea was a prayer for forgiveness for my persecutors, echoing the very words of Jesus on the cross, highlighting the transformative power of divine love and forgiveness.

To you who now carry forward the torch of the Gospel, let my story be a reminder of the cost of discipleship and the power of forgiveness. In the face of opposition, hold fast to the truth, speaking it with the courage and conviction bestowed by the Spirit. Remember, our battle is not against flesh and blood but against spiritual forces that seek to hinder the spread of the Gospel.

Let your lives be marked by love, service, and an unwavering commitment to the truth of Scripture. Engage with your community not only by sharing the word but by embodying the teachings of Christ through acts of kindness, justice, and mercy. In doing so, you continue the work that we, the early followers of Christ, began under the guidance of the Holy Spirit.

May you find strength and encouragement in the promises of God, who assures us that no labor in the Lord is in vain. Stand firm in faith, knowing that the same Spirit who raised Christ from the dead dwells in you, equipping you for every good work.

Grace and peace to you from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ.

With all sincerity and brotherly love,

Stephen

My Reasons To Believe is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

2 Comments
My Reasons To Believe
Voices
Whether you are a student of theology, a lover of history, or simply curious about the personalities that populate the Bible, "Voices of the Bible: From Adam to Zachariah" promises an enlightening and engaging exploration of these timeless stories and their protagonists.